Generations of Programming Language

1. The first generation languages -

The first generation languages, or 1GL, are low-level languages that are machine language or the level of instructions and data that the processor is actually given to work on.

2. The second generation languages -

The second generation languages, or 2GL, are also low-level languages that generally consist of assembly languages.

3. The third generation languages -

The third generation languages, or 3GL, are high-level languages such as C,Java,PL/I etc. A compiler converts the statements of a specific high-level programming language into machine language. A 3GL language requires a considerable amount of programming knowledge.

4. The fourth generation languages -

The fourth generation languages, or 4GL, are languages that consist of statements similar to statements in a human language. Fourth generation languages are commonly used in database programming and scripts.

5. The fifth generation languages -

The fifth generation languages, or 5GL, are programming languages that contain visual tools to help develop a program to create source language that is usually compiled with a 3GL or 4GL language compiler.

A good example of a fifth generation language is Visual Basic. Microsoft, Borland, IBM, and other companies make 5GL visual programming products for developing applications in Java. Visual programming allows you to easily envision object-oriented programming class hierarchies and drag icons to assemble program components.


Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

buttons=(Accept !) days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !